Area Guide

Leeton was the first town built as part of the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area (MIA) and was designed with the assistance of noted American architect Walter Burley Griffin.

The town is a showcase of contemporary rural Australia with many examples of Art Deco architecture, diverse agriculture and renowned country hospitality. Situated halfway between Sydney and Melbourne in the Riverina region of New South Wales, Leeton is accessible by road, air and rail.

Leeton Shire is also home to the town of Yanco, where Sir Samuel McCaughey demonstrated the viability of irrigation in the region. On his 'North Yanko' farm, 16,187 hectares were irrigated using around 320km of channels drawing from the Murrumbidgee River with steam driven pumps. 

McCaughey’s home is now part of the Yanco Agricutural High School, one of the many schools that contribute to the Shire’s role as the second largest educational centre in the Riverina.

The MIA was developed through the foresight of the Water Conservation and Irrigation Conference, which was chaired by Charles Alfred Lee in 1905 and initiated the construction of Burrinjuck Dam.

The region plays an important role in feeding Australians and the world, with each MIA farmer estimated to feed 600 people (450 through exports) and contributing to 38% of NSW’s vegetable production.

Water is also central to Leeton Shire’s wetlands. The Ramsar-listed Fivebough and Tuckerbil swamps host migratory birds, some from the northern hemisphere, during the warmer months with 174 bird species recorded at the former.

Leeton is friendly to recreational vehicles and campervans.


What People Think About Us